Introduction

Customers are the heart of most businesses—defining the potential for success, longevity, & sustainability. But like everything in this world, customers can be gained and lost over the lifetime of a company.

However, a genuinely formidable company will keep customers satisfied, yet hungry for more. Eagerly awaiting your next product, update, or offer. This desire for more is what helps businesses survive & prosper long term.

Article content

What is customer lifetime value?

Customer Lifetime Value or CLV Definition:
The measurement of how valuable a customer is throughout their business relationship.

For example, instead of relying on the value of the first purchase, CLV seeks the profit margin expected to be earned over the average lifespan of the customer. A key benefit of tracking this metric is that it enables you to understand a reasonable cost per acquisition.

Your CLV should account for a variety of things including:

  • Customer acquisition costs, or CAC.
  • Ongoing sales & marketing expenses.
  • Operating expenses.
  • Product or service cost.

This metric is highly valuable to include, yet surprisingly many companies don’t utilize it as much as single sale metrics. However, many studies are indicating that repeat customers are more valuable than first-time buyers.

The power of loyal, repeat customers:

When you consider the results of these studies, you can begin to understand how even the slightest optimization in customer retention rates can have a dramatically positive impact on the success and longevity of a business.

How to calculate the lifetime value of a client

Since these calculations are based on financial projections, it requires businesses to make informed estimations. Therefore, the more established a company is, the more historical customer data they can use, the more likely their calculation will be accurate.

To calculate CLV, a business must estimate the value of three things.

  • The average value of a sale.
  • The average number of transactions per customer.
  • The average duration of their business relationship.

So, in essence, the formula for calculating the customer lifetime value is:

However, it doesn’t end there. We need to include operating expenses and cost per customer.

To calculate the cost of a customer, we need to consider:

  • The cost of making the product.
  • The cost of advertising the product.
  • The cost of managing operations.

So, the formula for calculating the customer lifetime now becomes:

The most straightforward variation is:

Customer lifetime value example

We will use a hypothetical company to showcase how this calculation works.

A General Tech Store

  • Average Sale | $75
  • Average Customer Shops | 2 x Per A Year
  • Average Customer Lifespan | 3 Years

SO, THE EQUATION WOULD BE:

Lifetime Value = $75 x 2 x 3.
Total = $450

Then we have to account for the cost of a customer. The tech store’s average profit margin is 30%.

SO, THE EQUATION WOULD BE:

Customer Lifetime Value = $75 x 2 x 3 x 30%
Subtotal = $450 x 30%
Total = $135

This calculation indicates that the customer lifetime value of the average tech store customer is $135, far less the initial calculation of $450. Once you have calculated this number, you can then calculate how many customers you will need to retain profitable business.

Factors that influence a customers lifetime value

What is the best type of customer to have? A loyal one. Firstly, they are more likely to stay around longer than your average customer lifespan. Secondly, they are likely to recommend you to others and help you gain new business. Finally, they are not as likely to switch over to the competition.

On the other hand, if there is no brand loyalty, then we must consider how costly the customer will be. Especially if they leave for another company, leave a bad review, or ask for refunds. There is a saying that it takes 12 good reviews to remove the damage of one bad review.

Customer loyalty is almost priceless.

Customer loyalty is defined by their sense of dedication to a brand. A customer with no allegiance to a brand is considered brand agnostic. It is an excellent practice to increase your customer’s sense of brand loyalty as it directly correlates to an increase in customer retention and a natural decrease in customer churn.

Become aware of your churn rate & optimise it

A churn rate is defined by how many customers unsubscribe or stop shopping with your business. Every business is different; some acquire a competitive edge and loyalty programs that help retain more customers and lower churn rates. While other products and services are more likely to be a one time buy.

The formula for calculating churn rate is:

The total number of customers at the start of a given period.
Minus the total amount at the end of the given period.
Then divide that total by the number of customers at the beginning of the year.

For example, if the tech store had 500 loyal customers at the start of the year, but in the end, they only had 350.

The formula would be: 500 – 350
Subtotal = 150 ÷ 500
Total = 0.3 or 30%

So the total churn rate for the tech business is 30%. One of the top factors for customers leaving a company is poor customer support. Thus simply optimizing this area of your business could reduce churn by upto 89%.

Diversify & scale your sales + marketing strategies

Scalable sales & marketing strategies are essential for keeping your business afloat during change. Since many businesses’ revenue growth and marketing expenses are intertwined, it’s crucial to create backup plans to prevent a loss, if revenue was to decrease.

You can achieve this by split testing campaigns, testing new channels, and performing regular CRO. Tracking and optimizing these key metrics will enable you to perform quick strategic moves to minimize loss and keep your business growing.

How to improve the lifetime value of a customer

For each different kind of business, there is a different set of barriers and benefits to increasing CLV. For example, some companies are one of a kind and have the luxury of little to no competition. While most companies aren’t as lucky and have to implement tactics through targeted methods that help increase customer loyalty.

Your business is just like any relationship; first impressions count, excellent communication is essential, making them feel special & creating rewarding experiences keeps them coming back for more.

Optimize your first impression

The churn rate is highest after a customer’s first experience with your brand. So what better way to prevent churn than at their first impression, usually when they are onboarded. Effective onboarding is as simple as offering excellent customer support methods and being attentive to their needs.

Offer superior communication

Make your brand feel human, offer an open line of communication that will quickly guide the customer down the best path. Customers value being heard. It’s particularly vital when it comes to negative reviews, feedback, and comments. When you address this, you address that individual & anyone else who might come across it and have a similar concern. This simple practice can dramatically improve the chances of repeat business.

Make them feel special

One of the best ways to incentivize repeat customers is by giving them a rewarding loyalty program and personalized customer experience. This can include loyalty or reward points, VIP discounts, and target adverts based on products they viewed with bonus coupons.

Keep them engaged

Sometimes we forget about the products or services we use to love. That is why it is crucial to renege old customers with your products, offering personalized deals and rewards for their ongoing loyalty. This step is essential for prolonging the customer lifespan and increasing the overall CLV.

Increasing your customer lifetime value is a vital attribute for sustained success

Optimizing all the factors and practices mentioned above can be the difference between your business barely surviving and reaching new heights. The cost of retaining past customers will always be cheaper and more beneficial, then acquiring new customers.

Your business is just like any relationship; first impressions count, excellent communication is essential, making them feel special & creating rewarding experiences keeps them coming back for more.

Can your brand  grow grow faster?Let’s do it together

Discover how we write your exciting marketing story

26 Best A/B Testing Software Tools in 2022

Read article

How To Grow Your Brand with Amazon FBA

Read article

How to Create a Marketing Plan Template for You and Your Customers

Read article

CRM Email Marketing: 13 Software Tools To Try in 2022

Read article

Shopping Cart Abandonment: 17 Ways to Reduce It in 2022

Read article

How to Calculate Customer Lifetime Value (LTV)

Read article

Email Marketing Benchmarks: 2021 Statistics

Read article

14 Tips to Optimize Amazon Backend Keywords (2022)

Read article

Definitive Guide to Email Marketing Campaigns in 2022

Read article

Everything You Need to Know About Email Personalization

Read article

18 best email marketing design practices for 2022

Read article

Email Newsletter Design: Complete Guide + Examples

Read article

Browse Abandonment Email Examples to Inspire You!

Read article

82 Call to Action Examples You Should Learn From in 2022

Read article

B2B Email Marketing Explained (Examples Included)

Read article

Automated Email Marketing: Complete Guide

Read article

27 Email Copywriting Tips You Should Follow in 2022

Read article

Abandoned Cart Email Subject Lines: Dominate Email in 2022

Read article

30 Email Marketing Metrics to Track in 2022

Read article

Selling On Amazon Prime: Everything You Need To Know

Read article

Email Marketing ROI: How to Make More Money From Email

Read article

Crafting Browse Abandonment Email Subject Lines in 2022

Read article

Amazon SEO Tools to Improve Your Listings

Read article

37 Email Marketing Tips You Should Use In 2022

Read article

How To Create Automatic Email Responses

Read article

Email Marketing Strategy: The Definitive Guide for 2022

Read article

Value Proposition: Complete Guide & 19 Best Examples

Read article

Marketing Strategy: Definitive Guide in 2022

Read article

18 Ways To Make Money On Amazon FBA And Grow a Brand

Read article

Amazon Advertising The Definitive Guide (2022)

Read article

The 4Ps Of Marketing: A Complete Guide For 2022

Read article

10 Best Amazon Product Launch Tools In 2022

Read article

22 Amazon Advertising Strategy Tips To Boost Your Sales

Read article

Selling On Amazon Vs. Ebay—Which One Is More Profitable For Your Business?

Read article

Marketing On Amazon: 17 Actionable Strategies To Grow Your Business In 2022

Read article

How To Sell on Amazon in 2022

Read article

How To Open a Case in Amazon + Tips for Getting More Sales

Read article

How To Liquidate Amazon Inventory In 10 Easy Steps

Read article

How to Find the Best Amazon Freight Forwarder in 2022

Read article

How To Get Reviews on Amazon: 12 Advanced Strategies

Read article

How Do Amazon Coupons Work (And Everything You Should Know!)

Read article

67 Strategies To Increase Your Sales On Amazon

Read article

Everything You Need To Know To Take Advantage Of The Amazon Flywheel

Read article

How To Delete An Amazon Review And Generate More Positive Reviews For Your Online Store

Read article

The Complete Amazon Product Description Template

Read article

Amazon Product Research: How To Find a Profitable Product

Read article

Amazon FBA Strategy: Ultimate Guide To Selling, Pricing, Repricing, And More

Read article

Your Guide to Amazon Dynamic and Placement Bidding in 2022

Read article

Amazon Product Images: How to Take Product Photos That Sell

Read article

How To Manage Your Amazon Inventory Like A 7-Figure Seller

Read article

The 71 Absolute Best Amazon Seller Tools for 2022

Read article

Amazon A+ Content in 2022: The Definitive Guide

Read article

The Definitive Guide To Amazon ACoS + 10 Ways to Improve It

Read article

23 Ways To to Boost Your Amazon Conversion Rate in 2022

Read article

How To Get Amazon Choice Badge for Your Products

Read article

Amazon BSR: Definitive Guide + 8 Ways To Improve It

Read article

How to Perform an Amazon Competitors Analysis and Succeed in Your Target Market

Read article

Amazon Sales Analytics: Get a Hold of Your Business in 2022

Read article

Amazon Listing: How To Set it up in 2022

Read article

Amazon Listing Optimization in 2022: The Definitive Guide

Read article

Amazon SEO in 2022: The Definitive Guide

Read article

22 Amazon PPC Strategies You Should Try

Read article

Amazon Brand Registry Benefits: Why You Whould Do It Today!

Read article

Amazon Sales Ranking: Everything You Need to Sell More Units

Read article

How To Perform Amazon Keyword Research Like A Seasoned Pro

Read article

Amazon Negative Keywords - How To Improve Your ACoS

Read article

Amazon PPC: Advanced Guide Written by 8-Figure Seller

Read article